Best foot forward

23 Feb

When the weather warms up, the first thing I do is push the black clothes to the back of my closet and rotate the pretty, bright colors to the front. The next thing I do is buy new shoes. I buy practical flat sandals in several practical colors (No flip flops though- flippy floppies are for the beach and Walmart)  for everyday wear.

However, summer does not call for practical high heels.
High heels should be fun and call attention to themselves (It’s true–if you didn’t want to call attention to your shoes, you’d be wearing flats).

Without further ado, I present to you a few of my favorites this year.
My very favorite is the Brian Atwood Patent Trim Platform Slingback. One thing that I will never be able to get enough of is stripes! I LOVE stripes. Other things I love: a bright trim, a sweet scalloped edge and a tall sturdy heel. I could plan a whole months worth of outfits around this one pair of shoes. LOVE!


If the Christian Louboutin Lady Peep Slingback Pump can’t evoke a sunny outlook, I don’t think anything will. I love the color blocking of the shoe-the teal of the upper, the white heel, the yellow platform and, of course, the coveted red sole-perfection.


Proenza Schouler’s Platform Wedge is one shoe that demands attention in a more subtle way. It is packed full of detail. The stitching on the orange criss-cross instep strap, the braided band and the knotted leather heal strap are just a few of the details that make this shoe stand out to me. Mostly, I just love all the different textures rolled into this one pretty wedge.

 

Leave a Reply

