Fall 2011 Nails

22 Jul

About the time August rears its swelter-y head I’m ready for fall. It’s still too hot to start buying fall clothes (unless I want to just let them sit in my closet for another two months) so I get my fall fix by buying makeup.

Today we’re going to concentrate on makeup for your nails! I scoured style.com for some good pictures of runway beauty and pulled some of my favorite polishes that follow the trends.


Chanel Couture girls sported a gorgeous blue. Get a good match with Dior Tuxedo or OPI’s Yoga-Ta Get This Blue.


D&G models wore a flashy purple. I like Illamasqua in Poke and OPI for Sephora’s Domestic Goddess.


The girls at Gucci wore matching red lips and nails. OPI’s Vodka and Caviar and Chanel’s Dragon are both great picks.

Gray manicures were all the rage at Rag & Bone. Go with Rescue Beauty Lounge in Stormy and RGB in Steel for this look.

3.1 Phillip Lim kept it down to earth (as did many other fall 2011 shows) with a nude manicure.  You can’t go wrong with Butter London’s Yummy Mummy and Deborah Lippmann’s Naked.

Or just do what the Marc by Marc Jacobs models did and go au natural!

